Wild Trout Part 1

As a follow-up to my previous post, I decided to take the newly tied flies out for a spin. Central and Southern Utah are home to over fifty streams holding wild populations of trout. Most of these streams are small. The two of them I fished yesterday were no exception. My first stop landed me up the mountain from the town of Beaver. The river that flows down the canyon is crystal clear and holds sizable Brown trout, with the occasional planted Rainbow trout. It was evident when I reached the water’s edge that this was going to be a top water kind of day. Not only were grasshoppers ripping through the air, but all along the banks were the husks of hatched stone flies. 20170624_163940[1]

Wanting to try out the newly tied pheasant tails, I opted for a hopper-dropper combination. The hopper was an instant success. These fish had seen enough big bugs lately that there was no hesitation about eating mine. The fish were so aggressive that the dropper, settling a half second after the hopper, was a half a second too late as the rising fish had already hooked up on the hopper. Several fish in, and I finally had a take on the pheasant tail. Overall I count any fish hooking up on a fly that I’ve tied a success, and since it wasn’t necessary I put it back on the hat brim to fight another day and continued with the dry’s. 20170624_163924[1] Great way to beat the heat. Part two is the second stream I hit. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

