Summer Is Coming.

Warm spring weather means runoff. Runoff equals cloudy, sometimes thick, muddy water, that is tough to fish. Not only is the water more turbid, but the lack of visibility makes using flies a hard sell. Utah has a lot of small streams and high mountain lakes that offer good fishing year round. However, with the high lakes being out of reach for another month or so, small streams are my go too.

The other thing that spring means is that the Cutthroat trout and the Rainbow trout will be in full spawn soon. The fish will be ultra aggressive and protective of their beds. This means that I go to my bigger flies. Egg Sucking Leeches, Woolly Buggers and San Juan Worms. I try to stay away from Glo Bugs simply for the fact it is to closely related to sitting on the bank watching the old red and white bobber for hours on end. I never discount them, they are just more along the lines of the last resort fly.

So how does this post relate to you? I will be tying up flies for the next couple of weeks. I am going to be adding pictures, hopefully videos, and instructions on tying some of my favorites. If you haven’t already, like or follow my blog so you don’t miss out.

Leave a Reply

